Hotel and Travel     Program    Registration    Home     About Us

Native American Literature Symposium Awards for 2010
Sponsored by the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies

Submissions due January 15, 2010

The Beatrice Medicine Award
for Scholarship in American Indian Studies
This award will be given for an outstanding essay published in 2009.

2009 Winner: "Native America Writes Back: The Origin of the Indigenous Paradigm in Historiography."
Susan A. Miller 

2008 Winner: "Living My Native Life Deadly": Red Lake, Ward Churchill, and
the Discourses of Competing Genocides."
Jodi Byrd

2007 Winner:  American Indian Literary Nationalism
Robert Warrior, Jace Weaver, and Craig Womack

The Morning Star Award
in Creative Writing

This award honors those early Native writers whose voices guide us today.  The Morning Star Award
will given to an emerging creative writer for a first manuscript and will alternate
between prose  and poetry.  An author may submit in only one genre. 
2010 submissions will be in prose. 
NALS may facilitate publication of the winning manuscript.

In addition to the manuscript, the applicants or nominees should submit a short (2-3
page) essay about the literary significance of one of the women listed below
playing closest attention to their fiction, poetry, or plays. 
How does their work speak to you as an emerging author, and to generations of American Indian writers?
Jane Schoolcraft
Alice Callahan
Pauline Johnson
Ella Deloria

Send inquiries, nominations, or submissions to